Government has set up a taskforce to come up with a mechanism for resettling 5,704 Ugandans who were expelled from Tanzania between the year 2000 and 2013 and have been living temporarily in Sango Bay in Rakai, and have now been relocated to Government land in Kyaka 1, Kyegegwa District.

The taskforce, to be chaired by State Minister for Disaster Preparedness and Refugees, Musa Ecweru, was set up by Prime Minister Dr Ruhakana Rugunda following a visit he made to Kyaka 1, Kyegegwa District, on Sunday 26th June 2016. During the visit, the Prime Minister met the local district leadership, and addressed local people as well as the Ugandans who have just arrived in the area from Sango Bay.

The team comprises officials from the Office of the Prime Minister, Kyegegwa District Local Government, local and other opinion leaders.
Prime Minister Rugunda visited the area that is currently gazzetted as a refugee settlement, following a directive by President Yoweri Museveni and reports of growing disharmony, with the local people currently occupying the land fearing that they may be displaced.
“No Ugandan will displaced. There is no cause for alarm. That is the message President has given me to bring to you,” Prime Minister Rugunda told hundreds of people who came to listen to him at Rwentuuha.
 The main work of the Taskforce is to:
·        Undertake a detailed study of the matter, and advise on the best course of action, and report within three months.
·        Commence the opening up of the boundaries of Kyaka I Government land using the 1994 Mujungu survey.
·        Immediately undertake a thorough verification of the size and current occupants of Kyaka I Government land.
·        Undertake sensitization programs of the local population about land ownership issues and other related matters.
·        Ensure that the newly arrived Ugandans who were expelled from Tanzania are properly resettled
·        Ensure that the above exercises are conducted in an expeditious and transparent manner.
The taskforce is to ensure that in the conduct of its duties, it caters for the current occupants of the land, the Ugandans who were expelled from Tanzania, and the land currently gazetted for refugee settlement.
Between the year 2000 and 2013, the Government of Tanzania expelled a number of Ugandans who had migrated and settled in the Kagera Region of that country. The Ugandans had moved to Tanzania between 1930 and 1965. Although they had lived in Tanzania for a long time, they did not regularize their stay.
·        In the year 2000, the first lot of 2,793 Uganda were expelled and were received by Government/ Office of The Prime Minister and permanently resettled in Kahunge, a former refugee camp in Kamwenge District.
·        In 2003, another 900 Ugandans was expelled from Tanzania and were resettled in Rwamwanja Refugee Camp.
·        In 2007, another 704 Ugandans were expelled from Tanzania.
·        In 2013, a further 5,000 Ugandans were expelled from Tanzania.
The last two lots of 5,704 first camped in a swampy place in Kikagati, Isingiro District, and were later transferred to Sango Bay in Rakai District.
For the past four years, these 5,704 Ugandans of 713 households have lived in temporary shelters without land to cultivate and other forms of economic activity in Sango Bay.
The Government therefore decided to resettle them on Government land in Kyaka 1, in Kyegegwa District. The Kyegegwa land had previously housed Rwandan refugees, who returned to their country in 1994. Following their departure, some people took advantage of the situation and  occupied part of it.